The QuasiChristian

Critical Thinking and Spiritual Reasoning

Open Your God Account Now, And Get A Free Gift!


Clay Farris Naff (The Huffington Post)

… I guess their sorrows had brought this couple to the point where they were ready to try anything, but they sure didn’t look happy about it. All that would change, the older guy promised them.

“Before I got saved,” he was telling them, “I done everything bad there was to do. Got to the point where I didn’t want to go on. But something pulled me up from the depths. Something called the Lord.” He beamed his big smile on each of them in turn.

“Your lives will change, too. You’ll see. All your troubles will go away if you give them up to Jesus. God has a wonderful plan for your lives. And,” he added, beaming at the Mrs., “our church shows biblically correct movies for the youngsters every weekend. You’re gonna love it.”

At this moment, I was seized with a powerful urge to pull up a chair and butt in. Of course, I didn’t — my mother raised me right. If I had, though, I would have said something like this.

“Hold on a second, folks. Before you sign up with the Jesus dealership, have you considered all your options? How about Hinduism? Of maybe you’d like to be Muslims? But what am I saying? When I look at you, sir, I see a man of discriminating taste. Not just any old religion will do for you. No sir, for you we’ve got something special: Zoroastrianism! Comes complete with both fire and water rituals. So, what’ll it take for me to put you behind the wheel of a new faith today?”

It used to be that religions proselytized with promises about the hereafter. If there was a present-day benefit to be gained, it was generally something like not being tortured or put to death. But all that has changed.

Like everything else, the competition for souls has gone global, and marketing reigns supreme. As in so many other areas, America has led the way when it comes to the commercialization of religion. Almost from the inception of the republic, there has been a strong streak of salesmanship in American religion. It started with Great Awakening, gained momentum with the televangelist, and only got stronger with megachurch. And so we have come to this: Coupon Clipper Christianity.

Link to Article (Continue Reading)

October 6, 2010 - Posted by | Church, Commentary | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

