The QuasiChristian

Critical Thinking and Spiritual Reasoning

10 Lame Excuses for Not Sharing Your Faith


Link

  1. “It’s the pastor’s job, not mine.” (According to Ephesians 4:11,12 his job is to equip you to do the work.)

  2. “I don’t know what to say.” (There are plenty of resources out there to help you!)

  3. “I just live the gospel with my life.” (Good, now open your mouth and declare the good news!)

  4. “I’m waiting for the perfect timing.” (There’s no such thing!)

  5. “I don’t have the gift of evangelism.” (Well, I don’t have the gift of mercy but I still should show mercy!)

  6. “They could reject me.” (No, Jesus said they will reject you…at times anyway.”

  7. “I have bad breath.” (Testamints!)

  8. “I don’t know how to bring it up.” (How about just ask, “What are your spiritual beliefs?”)

  9. “I’m terrified.” (So am I. So was Paul! Let’s ask God for boldness like he did! Ephesians 6:19)

  10. “They may ask me a question I don’t have the answer to.” (You don’t have to know all the answers. You just need to introduce them to the One who does!)

This implies that Christians have valid excuses for not evangelizing. What are they?

January 4, 2012 - Posted by | Evangelism | , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Brilliant, and so true. I’m sure I’ve used just about every one on there, except perhaps bad breath! You’re right though, we should be bolder and more confident.

    Comment by goodnewsjunkie | January 4, 2012 | Reply

  2. Loved them please check out my blog http://liveandlaughwithjesus.wordpress.com/

    Comment by liveandlaughwithjesus | January 4, 2012 | Reply

  3. What about not sharing because you have doubts? Certainly not a lame excuse, but a plausible one.

    Without going into a whole spiel here–the Bible contains stuff that’s unsettling. Acts of misogyny, slavery, violence, and extermination of people, that are supposedly condoned by God. Many are reluctant to say that some parts of the Bible were not inspired (the disturbing parts). So you have to take the good with the bad and say it’s all divinely inspired. Trying to reconcile the bad with a loving God. It’s not enough to tell someone on the outside looking in to just have faith. Never addressing the disturbing parts in the Bible that concern them. I’ve had people tell me I’m thinking too much. Or I’m looking at it with a carnal mind. Basically asking me to suspend my intelligence. I just wish there could be some honest discussion about this stuff within Christian circles (not directed to those who responded to this post). 🙂

    Comment by K.C. Brownstone | January 4, 2012 | Reply

    • How wonderful it would be if people could bring up these worries in Church, I’m sure most have them, and the ones who don’t are deliberately, as you say, suspending their intelligence. I think a questioning church is a stronger and happier church for it.

      Comment by goodnewsjunkie | January 5, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

